Welcome to MTurk Crowd

Work on Amazon Mechanical Turk, learn from the best, and have fun doing it. Join the crowd today!

Sign Up

Panda Crazy Script for Panda's

Discussion in 'Userscripts, Extensions, and Software' started by Johnnyrs, Jun 11, 2016.

  1. An Island in the Sun

    An Island in the Sun
    Expand Collapse
    Part-time brat

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes:
    2,898
    @Johnnyrs@Johnnyrs PC hasn't been working for me for a few months now, on Chrome on tampermonkey on a Mac. It just goes to regular mturk, and depending on the PC link it either goes to a "sorry that page couldn't be found" on mturk or a search page on mturk with pandacrazy searched. I've asked before and am asking again in the regular thread to see if anyone else can figure it out but so far no luck. I've tried everything from deleting and re-installing and restarting Chrome and using the clear data link and all that.
     
  2. turkinthailand

    turkinthailand
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    276
    Likes:
    230
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    An Island in the Sun likes this.
  3. An Island in the Sun

    An Island in the Sun
    Expand Collapse
    Part-time brat

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2017
    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes:
    2,898
    I got it to work last night, or rather it just started working after months, so I did something, I'm just not sure what. People had given me a bunch of ideas in the daily thread yesterday and I tried lots of them but none worked, even after restarting the browser and computer. Fast forward some hours to last night and I decided to re-install turkmaster after not having it for years to use for my pandas. When I installed it I decided to try PC one more time before setting up turkmaster and lo and behold PC suddenly worked.

    I don't know if installing turkmaster caused tampermonkey to somehow run the PC script correctly again, or if something I'd done earlier just took some hours to kick in and work, but either way I now have PC again after months.

    @turkinthailand@turkinthailand Thanks for the suggestion, and yes I'd tried that and it hadn't worked. Now that PC is working again all the links work for it again like normal.
     
    turkinthailand likes this.
  4. Jatis

    Jatis
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2018
    Messages:
    255
    Likes:
    295
    These Noah's are bad. Why does always use hotkeys that are already being used in chrome.
     
  5. turkinthailand

    turkinthailand
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    276
    Likes:
    230
    I have isolated the issue I was having with TamperMonkey crashing in Chrome. It is actually Panda Crazy causing it. How do I know? Because I switched Panda Crazy from running in Chrome to Firefox, and Chrome is now stable. TamperMonkey hasn’t crashed in two days. But now running Panda Crazy in Firefox… unfortunately Firefox is crashing, approx. once per day, and when it crashes, 50% of the time, it corrupts the Panda Crazy DB. Again, I guess, evidence that it is a Panda Crazy issue - and Firefox is crashing when Panda Crazy is writing to its DB.



    So the question is why Panda Crazy, installed on a fresh Windows 10 machine with 16GB RAM, is:

    1. In Chrome - causing TamperMonkey to crash (approx. 1 to 2 hours)
    2. In Firefox - causing FireFox to crash (approx. once per day)


    Obviously I've tried deleting and reinstalling Panda Crazy from TamperMonkey several times. Makes no difference. Rebooted several times. No difference. So:

    1. Is there any way to do a "deeper" uninstall" of Panda Crazy than just deleting from TamperMonkey and reinstalling?
    2. Any way to debug where it is crashing? I turned on level 5 debugging and put the Firefox console up, but it doesn't produce any errors when I've been watching. It just crashes Firefox.
    3. Any other suggestions, for either (a) reasons why it is crashing, or (b) ways to investigate the crash?


    Apologies for long post. It's just I rely on Panda Crazy running well, and actually love it a lot. I really don't want to switch to a different solution. So I would love to find out what the issue is and fix it.



    Thank a lot guys.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Horse Feathers likes this.
  6. Horse Feathers

    Horse Feathers
    Expand Collapse
    There's no future in time travel.

    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,087
    Likes:
    5,895
    I hadn't heard about this issue until now. FWIW, I run Panda Crazy by itself in Vivaldi and have been for quite a while. Never had any trouble because I don't use the browser for anything else.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    turkinthailand likes this.
  7. turkinthailand

    turkinthailand
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    276
    Likes:
    230
    I don't actually use Firefox for anything else either, it just runs Panda Crazy. But I'll try Vivaldi out and let you know if it works for me :)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Horse Feathers likes this.
  8. turkinthailand

    turkinthailand
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    276
    Likes:
    230
    So far, Vivaldi looking very good. Actually a very nice browser as well. Has best Dark Mode I've come across yet in a browser :)

    Still leaks 300MB of memory an hour running Panda Crazy, but they all seem to do that.... so it's just a case of daily restarts to get round that issue.

    Now just got to run it overnight a couple of nights and make sure it doesn't crash, or corrupt the Panda Crazy DB, or crash TamperMonkey, or crash Vivaldi.

    But so far, so very good. Will give a final report in a couple of days :) Thanks again for the tip :)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Horse Feathers likes this.
  9. turkinthailand

    turkinthailand
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    276
    Likes:
    230
    Unfortunately, I think because it's Chrome-based, I run Panda Crazy in Vivaldi and it crashes Tamper Monkey, same as running Panda Crazy in Chrome used to. So I'm at a loss now as to what the heck is wrong.

    Where's the confused emoji when I need it?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. turkinthailand

    turkinthailand
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2017
    Messages:
    276
    Likes:
    230
    ...
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    #670 turkinthailand, Nov 20, 2018
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2018