Welcome to MTurk Crowd

Work on Amazon Mechanical Turk, learn from the best, and have fun doing it. Join the crowd today!

Sign Up

New HIT Monitor v2 with SMS alerts

Discussion in 'Userscripts, Extensions, and Software' started by DCI, Feb 1, 2016.

  1. James

    James
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes:
    1,833
    So here's a question. I finally decided to try the SMS feature, but I can't get it working. I put in my phone's email address, which is a sprint.com address, and have run a couple tests with negative results. I'm sure I'm missing something obvious here, but I have no idea what?? :\ Thanks!
     
  2. DCI

    DCI
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Likes:
    2,549
    One possibility is that you may have pop up blocking enabled on your browser. The way the SMS feature works is that it opens a tab and sends an email to the given address from your gmail account, so pop up blocking can prevent the tab from opening and it needs to either be disabled or to have an exception.
     
    James likes this.
  3. James

    James
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes:
    1,833
    Wow, thanks for responding so quickly! You were right about the pop up blocking. Works like a charm now. Thanks and have a great weekend!
     
    Jaded and DCI like this.
  4. MrTrentSD

    MrTrentSD
    Expand Collapse
    Alive and Kicking

    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2016
    Messages:
    1,914
    Likes:
    3,534
    I think that at one time HM would open a tab over what you are working on, now (and for some time) it opens under all other tabs. I use Chrome.

    Is there a setting in the code I can change to have it so that when it opens a tab, it come on top of all other??
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  5. DCI

    DCI
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Likes:
    2,549
    Yes, you can change line 474 from:

    Code:
    GM_openInTab(linko)
    which will use the browser's default behavior, to this:

    Code:
    GM_openInTab(linko,{active: true});
    which will force the tab on top.
     
    MrTrentSD likes this.
  6. TurRaider8v

    TurRaider8v
    Expand Collapse
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2016
    Messages:
    146
    Likes:
    173
    Hmmm... i just installed Overwatch because someone said it replaced Hit Monitor but it seems like HM is still active. Has anyone used both and prefer one over the other?
     
  7. DCI

    DCI
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Likes:
    2,549
    I don't know what Overwatch is, but when someone said it replaces HM, they probably just meant that it's a better script that can do everything HM can and more. At this point there are probably lots of things that are better than HM. It's still very user friendly and reliable though.