Welcome to MTurk Crowd

Work on Amazon Mechanical Turk, learn from the best, and have fun doing it. Join the crowd today!

Sign Up

New HIT Monitor v2 with SMS alerts

Discussion in 'Userscripts, Extensions, and Software' started by DCI, Feb 1, 2016.

  1. DCI

    DCI
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Likes:
    2,549
    You can use a normal email address. All it does is opens gmail and sends an email to whatever address that you give it, which can be a phone, but it doesn't have to be.

    It sounds like maybe it's not submitting the email for you for some reason if the gmail tab is staying open and not sending anything.
     
    Tribune likes this.
  2. turker

    turker
    Expand Collapse
    How many pork chop of pork chop are in this image?

    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11,791
    Likes:
    23,750
    I changed the time interval from 3 seconds to 10 seconds. now it's working! it sent me an email! thanks this is great!!!!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    Tribune and DCI like this.
  3. DCI

    DCI
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Likes:
    2,549
    No problem.

    Do me a favor and test something out for me. I don't think that the scan interval should matter for the purposes of sending an email alert, but I want to make sure. Could you set it back to 3 seconds and see if it starts failing to send again? If it does, I'll see if I can fix that. If it continues to work, then maybe something else was just bugging out and needed a page reload or something.
     
    Tribune likes this.
  4. turker

    turker
    Expand Collapse
    How many pork chop of pork chop are in this image?

    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11,791
    Likes:
    23,750
    I tried it twice on 3 seconds again. it worked both times. there were a lot of tabs open when I tried it before. I don't know if that's why it didn't work? it's working great now at different time intervals :)
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    #24 turker, Apr 19, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2016
    DCI and Tribune like this.
  5. turker

    turker
    Expand Collapse
    How many pork chop of pork chop are in this image?

    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11,791
    Likes:
    23,750
    the hit monitor didn't alert for some requesters today. I saw them on mturk for hours. it didn't alert for the 2 requesters that were first on the list at different times. it did alert for 1 of them when it was moved towards the end of the list. is there a way I can fix that?
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  6. kryss

    kryss
    Expand Collapse
    carburante al fuoco

    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    19,506
    Likes:
    56,152
    Just a quick note, I don't know if this effects anyone here having issues, but recently amazon has given the option for requesters to hide HITs completely from mturk unless you're qualified for them. So if you're running a logged out monitor and a requester has used this setting, they won't show up.

    We've seen a few of them using this. Those Mullen verizon HITs are hidden unless you're qual'd.
     
    #26 kryss, Apr 19, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2016
    Janya and DCI like this.
  7. DCI

    DCI
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Likes:
    2,549
    The order of the list won't make any difference. They will all be checked at once.

    The way the script works is that it checks the most recently posted hits for your terms, so if something is already up, you won't get an alert. Alerts will only happen when something new spawns.

    Also, if you aren't getting alerts that you should be, make sure that you have results displayed per page on mturk set to something more than 10. The more results per page the less chance of missing something during a busy time.
     
  8. turker

    turker
    Expand Collapse
    How many pork chop of pork chop are in this image?

    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    11,791
    Likes:
    23,750
    Thanks that's good to know. I was logged in and these reqiesters aren't hidden.
    oh they were already up when I turned hit monitor on. that's why I didn't get alerts for those, they were big batches that were already up. I was turning the hit monitor off and on all day while I messing with it. Thank you again!
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    kryss likes this.
  9. El Pablo

    El Pablo
    Expand Collapse
    ಠ_ಠ

    • Contributor
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    6,264
    Likes:
    11,994
    Not sure, but this shouldn't matter if you've changed the script to only search for qualed HITs.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
  10. TSolo315

    TSolo315
    Expand Collapse
    SnapNCrackle

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    2,203
    Likes:
    7,174
    The website the alert sound is hosted on is down atm.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    kryss and DCI like this.
  11. tyr888

    tyr888
    Expand Collapse
    Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes:
    444
    I'm trying to figure out how to use hitmonitor. I don't know how. I have set up three tests with copytext. one with keywords, one with group ID and one with the entire panda address. I'm doing all three because I don't know which one i'm supposed to do.

    after I set them up, i pushed "run"

    nothing happened.

    I've asked in the daily threads what i'm supposed to do, but the pages move fast, or people just have other priorities (which is fine, no one owes me anything, nor do I feel entitled to receive help for free) and no one has any help to offer.

    I'm assuming that the function of the program is to leave it running in its own tab and it would alert me when a hit/requester that I like, happens to be active. no one seems to be able to confirm or deny that, so I'm not 100% sure.
     
  12. James

    James
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes:
    1,833
    HM only scans the new HIT page. Don't worry about it failing to alert you for Copytext. It wouldn't have done that anyway because it wouldn't have been on that page . Just load your HM up with the requester ID's and group ID's and whatever you want - but make sure to set your new HIT page to show 100 results. Good luck!
     
    #32 James, Jun 29, 2016
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
    DCI likes this.
  13. tyr888

    tyr888
    Expand Collapse
    Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes:
    444
    I'm not trying to see copytext, I was using it as a test, to see if I was doing it right
     
  14. Jaded

    Jaded
    Expand Collapse
    Drinking is research

    • Administrator
    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    34,187
    Likes:
    83,625

    Use brelig as a test instead, that one almost always pops up in new hits and will actually trigger HM

    edit: and you can use name or req id, you don't have to use both.
     
    Collapse Signature Expand Signature
    DCI likes this.
  15. James

    James
    Expand Collapse
    Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2016
    Messages:
    1,052
    Likes:
    1,833
    That's my point. You wouldn't "see" Copytext even if the script was working properly, because it scans the new HIT page only. Once the requester or HIT you're looking for gets bumped from that first page of HITs it will no longer be caught by HM. That's why I encouraged you to set your Mturk to show 100 results per page, so you can maximize the real estate on that first page since that's the only one your HM will scan. Does this make sense?
     
  16. DCI

    DCI
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Likes:
    2,549
    Like others already said, this script just scans the newest HITs page, so it will only trigger an alert when a HIT is posted, not when it's already there. The link that it searches is: https://www.mturk.com/mturk/searchbar?selectedSearchType=hitgroups&sortType=LastUpdatedTime:1
    Just a regular search page sorted for newest HITs. It looks in each HIT capsule (the blue rectangles for each HIT), checks for your search terms, and alerts you if any of them are found.

    It doesn't really matter what you use for your search term. As long as your term is anywhere in that capsule, in any of the text or links, it will be found. I made it that way so that it would be more flexible so that it's easier to filter your searches down to exactly what you want.

    If I wanted to be alerted any time a particular requester posts, using the requester ID makes the most sense. I could also just type the name of the requester instead, but that increases the chances of a HIT posted by another requester including the search term and creating a false alarm.

    If I only wanted a particular HIT, using the group ID makes sense, but sometimes requesters post the same HITs with lots of different group IDs. In that case, it might make more sense to use the name of the HIT or some text from the description of the HIT.
     
    Jaded likes this.
  17. tyr888

    tyr888
    Expand Collapse
    Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes:
    444
    ok, so what does it do when it notices a match/hit? I added in a test for "brelig" as suggested by someone else, and it opened a new tab on my browser, indicating that the sms feature isn't functioning? I'm not sure.

    does this interfere with turkmaster? I've noticed that when I have more than a few pandas being tried in TM, my laptop slows down a little bit.
     
  18. DCI

    DCI
    Expand Collapse
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2016
    Messages:
    715
    Likes:
    2,549
    When it finds a match it plays a sound, puts a link on the page and a time stamp, and pauses searches for that term. If auto launch is enabled, it will also open a tab to the appropriate HITs. If SMS is enabled and an address has been added, a message will be sent from the active gmail account to that address. It doesn't interfere with turkmaster.
     
  19. tyr888

    tyr888
    Expand Collapse
    Banned
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    408
    Likes:
    444
    Ok, thanks. I think I have it figured out, I just need to get a few more types of searches in there.
    that's something that happens with time, as I develop my own uses for it
     
  20. Autonomadic

    Autonomadic
    Expand Collapse
    New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2016
    Messages:
    54
    Likes:
    55